Malaysia Public Holidays - Year 2011

Besides some nationally recognized common holidays, the official public holidays (and bank holidays) in Malaysia may vary from state to state. The states' or federal territories' own holidays usually relate to a local cultural festival/custom, or mark the birthday of the local head of state (the Sultan or governor). If you're travelling to a smaller town or city and require business facilities or public services such as postal and government permits, it's best to check beforehand. The major Malaysian holidays for year 2011 are :
| More

New Year's Day

Saturday, 1 January 2011

This is an internationally recognized first day of the Gregorian calendar year. In Malaysia, this is not a federal holiday, but for most purposes, it would be safer to assume offices are not opened on this day.

Thaipusam Festival

Thursday, 20 January 2011

Thaipusam is a festival celebrated by ethnic Indians (mainly the Tamils) of Malaysia. It is a state holiday in Kuala Lumpur and some states including Johor, Negri Sembilan, Selangor, Perak and Penang. Notably these are urbanised areas with relatively higher proportions of Tamils and Indians.

Chinese New Year / Lunar New Year

Thursday, 3 February 2011
Friday, 4 February 2011

The Chinese lunar new year starts on 3 February 2011. This is the year of the Rabbit in the Chinese zodiac. The previous year was that of the Tiger, and the next year(2012) will be the year of the Dragon. The associated heavenly element (one of five) for the lunar year 2011 is the Metal element in the Yin form.
The Malaysian Chinese New Year is similarly celebrated to Singapore's. Most Chinese Malaysians working outside their home state or based overseas will take a long break and return to their hometowns, usually arriving a day or more before the first day. Chinese businesses may be closed for as long as a week or two during this period.

Prophet Muhammad's Birthday ()

Tuesday, 15 February 2011

As a majority Muslim(Sunni) country, Malaysia has gazetted this as an official federal holiday to celebrate the birthday of Islam's Prophet Muhammad. Shia Muslims (Shi'ites) celebrate this five days later.

Good Friday

Friday, 22 April 2011

Good Friday is only an official holiday in the states of Sabah and Sarawak which have significantly higher proportions of Christians.

Labour Day (or Workers' Day)

Sunday*, 1 May 2011

As with most countries in the world, Malaysia commemorates workers' contributions to the country on the first day of the month of May every year.

Wesak Day

Tuesday, 17 May 2011

This is also known as Vesak Day in Singapore and commemorates the birth, enlightenment and death of Gautama Buddha, founder of Buddhism, although it is often associated mainly with the Buddha's birthday.

Yang di-Pertuan Agong's (Malaysian King's) Birthday

Saturday, 4 June 2011

The Agong is the official Head of State of Malaysia and is a position effectively rotated among the nine Malay state sultans. The Agong (over year 2011) is expected to be the incumbent - Mizan Zainal Abidin, the Sultan of Terengganu. This is a nationwide holiday. Individually, each state celebrates its own Sultan's or Governor's birthdays.

Hari Raya Puasa

First Day: Tuesday, 30 August 2011
Second Day: Wednesday, 31 August 2011

Hari Raya Puasa is the local Malay name for the Muslim religious holiday and celebration of Eid ul-Fitr (Aidilfitri) which marks the end of Ramadan, the Islamic holy month of fasting.

National Day (Merdeka Day / Hari Kebangsaan)

Wednesday, 31 August 2011

This federal holiday commemorates the independence of Malaya (as it was then known) from colonial British rule. 31 Aug 2011 will mark the start of the 55th year of independent Malaysia.

Malaysia Day (Hari Malaysia)

Friday, 16 September 2011

Malaysia Day is a new holiday (starting from year 2010) to mark the establishment of the Malaysian federation on the same date in 1963. It commemorates the joining together of Malaya, North Borneo, Sarawak, and Singapore (which later separated from the federation) to form Malaysia.


Wednesday, 26 October 2011*

Deepavali, also known as Diwali or Divali, is an Indian festival celebrated by ethnic Indians, especially by followers of the religions of Hinduism, Sikhism and Jainism. It is also commonly called the Festival of Lights. In Malaysia, Deepavali is a public holiday except in the state of Sarawak and Labuan Federal Territory.

* This date may change based on the updated Indian almanac.

Hari Raya Qurban (Haji)

Sunday, 6 November 2011
Monday, 7 November 2011

Hari Raya Qurban (also commonly known as Hari Raya Haji in Singapore) is the local Malay name for the Muslim religious holiday/celebration of Eid ul-Adha (or Aidiladha) which marks the end of the pilgrimage(hajj) period. The second day of Hari Raya Haji is an official holiday only in Kedah, Kelantan, Perlis and Trengganu.

Awal Muharam / Maal Hijrah (Islamic calendar New Year's Day)

Sunday, 27 November 2011

This is the first day of the Islamic calendar year (which is based on the lunar cycle) and is a federal holiday in Malaysia.

Christmas Day (Hari Krismas)

Sunday, 25 December 2011

Despite its Muslim majority, Malaysia is a multi-cultural multi-religious country with a substantial proportion of Christians and Catholics. Christmas Day is gazetted as a national holiday in every state and federal territory.

| More
[ MY Holidays (2010) ]
[ MY Holidays (2012) ]
[ SG Holidays (2011) ]
[ go to top of page ]